Now who really believes that I’ll actually post a stir fry recipe every week?  Not even me.  But, this is my go-to type of cooking when I’m only feeding myself, and its great for cleaning out the fridge.  It’s nowhere near authentic, but my way goes like this:

Some kind of rice (white, brown, wild, or 7 grain pilaf)
+
Some kind of protein (chicken, shrimp, salmon, edamame, eggs)
+
Veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, carrots, spinach, peppers, broccoli, …)
+
Always onion and garlic
+
Olive Oil
+
Soy Sauce or spices

=

This time I used:
Kashi 7 Whole Grain Pilaf
Chicken Breast Pieces
Zucchini
Onions
Mushrooms
Kale  (leftover from this recipe)
Garlic
Soy Sauce
Sesame Seeds

A note about the Pilaf:


I think I saw this Kashi Pilaf in some health magazine, and sought it out at Earth Fare when we lived in Charlotte.  The regular Kroger here stocks it in their “organic” section, and I think most grocery stores that carry Kashi products might have this now.  Its kinda like brown rice on crack, but there is a little bit of a learning curve in cooking it.  Basically, its cooked like rice, 1 part pilaf to 2 parts liquid.  The first time I made it I just followed the instructions and timing on the box, using water as the liquid.  It wasn’t nearly cooked enough for me!  I felt like a woodland creature crunching on flavorless birdseed.  Everybody needs fiber, but it was really ridiculous!  So ever since, I’ve cooked it in chicken broth, adding about an extra ¼ – ½ cup of liquid, and cooking it for about 10 minutes longer than the package says.  Much better!  I don’t think I’ll ever eat it alone as a side dish, but its great for a stir fry and tasty with veggies.

Basic Process:
Heat some olive oil in the pan and add in chopped meat.  Brown for a minute or two, then add onions and your thickest/densest vegetable (the ones that will take the longest to cook).  Let it go for another minute or two, then add the rest of the veggies and keep everything moving by stirring or jiggling the pan.  I’ve actually gotten pretty good at flipping everything around in the pan like chefs do.  I’m also good at cleaning up the floor and stove top when stuff flies out of the pan.  Once everything looks like its softening up and getting a little color, add the garlic and rice, stirring everything to combine.  Add some soy sauce, and once the rice is warmed through, its done!  Slop it into a bowl and toss some sesame seeds or green onions on top, and you’re in business!

