Mom:  “What the crap is that?”

Me:  “Its cottage cheese with ranch dressing seasoning mixed in.”

Mom:  “You are really weird.”

Me:  “Well.  Thanks Mom.”

So, yeah.  I’ve somehow managed to live 28 years without eating cottage cheese.   It just wasn’t something we had in the house as kids, and I have never seen anyone eat any!   Now, I always see it in menus  for diet and nutrition plans, but it just didn’t seem like anything I could deal with eating.  Then I read more about it, and how it has lots of protein and calcium, so I decided it was time to give it a try.

My first instinct is always to google recipes online, and this time I stumbled across a forum when people had posted all the different ways they eat cottage cheese.  From plain, to fruited to doused with hot sauce, I got lots of good ideas.  I personally thought it might be good stirred up with ranch dressing mix and used as a dip.

MSG makes me crazy, so those packets from the grocery store don’t really work for me.  Here’s my best approximation of a “Hidden Valley” type ranch dressing mix:

Ingredients

    • 1/2 cup dry buttermilk
    • 1 tablespoon dried parsley, crushed
    • 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
    • 1 teaspoon onion powder
    • 1 teaspoon dried onion flakes
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender.
  2. Blend at high speed until smooth.
  3. If you want to use this to make salad dressing combine 1 tablespoon mix with 1 cup mayonnaise and 1 cup milk.
  4. Otherwise use 1 tablespoon in any recipe calling for an envelope of ranch dressing mix.

For this particular dip, I used 1 tbsp ranch mix with 1 cup of cottage cheese.  Then I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese, sunflower seeds, and grape tomatoes and used sliced cucumbers to scoop it all up.  This really worked for me!  I left the cottage cheese chunky, but it would be more dip-like for veggies if you threw it in a blender with some milk or buttermilk to smooth it out.  It’s also really good to dip Goldfish crackers in  (thats actually what I was doing when Mom told me I was weird…)

 

