We’re really lucky that Tennessee has Sundrop.   No Cheerwine here, but I think I’ll live.   I would have really missed Sundrop though.  It reminds me of summertime as a kid, eating those way-too-orange peanut butter snack crackers.

Anyway – this Sundrop pound cake is a great recipe from Donna Knight (I love facebook!).  Its the only pound cake I’ve ever made that didn’t flatten into a dense dry slab.  The texture was just right, with a tiny sad streak in the middle (some people don’t like it when that happens, but thats my favorite part!).  I also came up with a lemony glaze to go on top, although I could just as easily eat this plain!

Sundrop Pound Cake

3 cups all purpose (plain) flour
3 cups sugar
½ cup Crisco
2 sticks butter or margarine
5 eggs
1 cup Sundrop
1 tsp vanilla flavoring
2 tsp lemon flavoring

Grease and flour tube cake pan, or spray with cooking spray with flour.  (I used two loaf pans, I think my tube pan is somewhere in storage…)

Add sugar, Crisco, butter and blend well. Add eggs one at time. Alternate flour and Sundrop, making sure the flour is well blended before adding Sundrop, if not, this will cause lumps. Add flavoring.

Put cake in a cold oven. Bake at 325° for 1 hour 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Glaze

2 cups powdered sugar
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp milk
1 tbsp lemon zest

Whisk everything together, adding milk a little at a time until you reach your desired consistency.

