‘Tis the season for grapefruit!   I bought one at Kroger for a whopping    $ .77,  then saw them at Aldi for $ .25.   GAH!    I’ll be honest, I originally ate grapefruit as a diet food.  Come on ladies, who hasn’t?   But I actually grew to like it!   Then I saw this little recipe in Everyday Food and had to give it a shot.  It’s really, really good!

Grapefruit with Pistachios

2 grapefruits
2 tbsp brown sugar
pistachios, chopped

Cut one grapefruit in half and squeeze ¼ cup fresh grapefruit juice into a small bowl.  Stir in brown sugar.  With a sharp knife, slice away peel and pith of the remaining 1 ½ grapefruits, then slice into thin rounds.  If you’re sharing, divide the slices into separate bowls and pour the sweetened juice over top.  Sprinkle with pistachios.   Any extra will keep in the fridge.

 

(Peeling – A lot easier than cutting it in half and scooping it out in little segments…)

 

 

