My siblings and I weren’t big milk drinkers growing up.  Well, maybe my brother was, but I know my sister and I would only come near a glass of milk if it was brown and chocolatey.  Chocolaty?  Chocolate-y?

Anyway.

I still love chocolate milk, but I HATE high fructose corn syrup.  I’m convinced that it makes me crazy.  The first 3 ingredients of bottled chocolate syrup are high fructose corn syrup, sugar, and syrup.  The second syrup is undisclosed, and cocoa is the 6th or 7th ingredient.  So, if I’m going to continue drinking chocolate milk with my peanut butter toast, I’ve got to find a way to get rid of all that chemical junk.  I know its never going to qualify as health food, but at least I can try making it with some simple (normal) ingredients.  Most of my Google finds were a combination of cocoa, sugar, and water, but the recipe I chose also included a dash of salt and vanilla extract.

Chocolate Syrup

1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1 tsp. vanilla extract
dash of salt

Combine cocoa, sugar, and salt in a saucepan.  Add water, and mix until smooth.  Bring this mixture to a boil.  Allow it to boil for one minute, but be careful this does not over boil.  Remove from heat, and when it cools down a little bit, add the vanilla.

 

The Result:

Pros: This tastes really good!  Almost exactly like the stuff in the brown bottle from the grocery store.

It doesn’t seem to take as much of this syrup to get the same effect as store-bought.  Maybe 1 tablespoon as opposed to 2-3.

The consistency is a lot thinner than the bottled syrup, (probably due to the lack of chemical thickeners and stabilizers) so it stirs into the milk more easily!

And lets not forget, NO HFCS!  🙂

Cons: The consistency again, but for a different reason.  Since its so thin, it really can’t double as a topping for ice cream.  In fact, I can’t think of any other use for it.

Luckily, I really only want this syrup for chocolate milk purposes, so this isn’t a deal breaker for me.  I plan on making this from here on out.  And here is another tip – I’m reusing the syrup bottle from the grocery store, and I wrote the recipe on it in Sharpie so I don’t have to drag out the recipe when I need to make more.  (No, I’m not gonna use that cute glass bottle from the picture.  I decided that was a sticky mess just waiting to happen…)

